Our Office & Staff

Our Mission

Promote equal access for students with disabilities in curricular and co-curricular activities within the university experience.

Foster partnerships with students, faculty, and staff to create environments that are accessible, diverse, and inclusive.

Empower students to fully participate in the university community.

Our vision is for all students to achieve their fullest potential.

As part of George Mason University’s continuing commitment to upholding the letter and spirit of the laws that ensure equal treatment of people with disabilities, the university established and maintains Disability Services. Under the administration of University Life, the center implements and coordinates reasonable accommodations and disability-related services that afford equal access to university programs and activities.

Disability Services is available to serve all students with disabilities, including those with cognitive, learning, psychological, sustained head injuries, sensory, mobility, and other physical impairments.

As part of University Life’s commitment to recognizing and honoring the richness of diversity at George Mason University, Disability Services staff members actively participate in the campus-wide diversity dialogue. The office welcomes and encourages all students with disabilities, whether registered with Disability Services or not, to identify themselves as members of the disability community and to engage in the diversity dialogue on campus by getting involved with Disability Services and other multicultural programs and activities.

 

Disability Services is located in Student Union Building 1 (SUB1), Suite 2500. 

Office hours are Monday-Friday, 9am-5pm.

Full Address: 

4400 University Drive, MSN 5C9

Student Union Building 1, Suite 2500

Fairfax, VA 22030

The Disability Services Testing Center is located in SUB1, Room 3313.

Fall/Spring Testing Center hours: M-F 9am-4:45pm.

*Tuesday evening testing hours until 8:45pm.

Summer Testing Center hours: M-F 9am-4:45pm.

*Tuesday evening testing hours until 8:45pm are available when scheduled prior to the day of the test.

During the university scheduled spring and fall final exam periods, the Disability Services Testing Center will be open extended hours.  Students registered with Disability Services will be notified via email and updated signage in and around the Testing Center.  Students are also encouraged to review the Final Exam Schedule posted on the Registrar’s website.

The Disability Services Team

Naomi Martinez-Jones, Director – nmarti20@gmu.edu

Jason Northrup, Associate Director – jnorthru@gmu.edu

Jamilah Anderson, Associate Director, Mason Autism Support Initiative (MASI) – jander53@gmu.edu

Jeffrey Ogden, Assistant Director – jogden5@gmu.edu

Aja Puopolo, Coordinator of Deaf/Hard of Hearing Services – apuopolo@gmu.edu

Lisa Coats, Access Consultant – lcoats@gmu.edu

Marcel Assink, Data Analyst – massink@gmu.edu

Chris Williams, Program Coordinator, Mason Autism Support Initiative (MASI) – cwilli23@gmu.edu

Maureen Breen, Administrative Assistant – mbreen1@gmu

Rachel Carter, Test Administrator – rcarter8@gmu.edu