Our Office and Staff

The Disability Services mission is to:

Promote Equal Access

for students with disabilities in curricular and co-curricular activities within the university experience

Foster Partnerships

with students, faculty, and staff to create environments that are accessible, diverse, and inclusive

Empower Students

to participate fully in the university community

Our Vision

George Mason University is committed to non-discrimination of students with disabilities and strives to ensure that they have equal access to higher education, programs, activities, and services in order for them to participate fully in the university. As a continuing commitment to upholding the letter and spirit of the laws, such as the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 and Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 that ensure equal treatment of people with disabilities, the university established and maintains Disability Services.

Disability Services provides a variety of support services and reasonable accommodations for students with disabilities, as defined by the ADA and Section 504, which affords equal access to university programs and activities. 

Disability Services is available to serve all students with disabilities, including those with cognitive, learning, psychological, sustained head injuries, sensory, mobility, and other physical impairments.

As part of University Life’s commitment to recognizing and honoring the richness of diversity at George Mason University, Disability Services staff members actively participate in the campus-wide diversity dialogue. The office welcomes and encourages all students with disabilities, whether registered with Disability Services or not, to identify themselves as members of the disability community and to engage in the diversity dialogue on campus by getting involved with Disability Services and other multicultural programs and activities.

The Disability Services Team

Naomi Martinez-Jones, Director

nmarti20@gmu.edu

Jamilah Anderson, Associate Director

jander53@gmu.edu

Jeffrey Ogden, Assistant Director

jogden5@gmu.edu

Jennifer Early, Director of Mason Autism Support Initiative

jearly2@gmu.edu

Lisa Coats, Access Consultant

lcoats@gmu.edu

Aja Puopolo, Specialist and Manager for Deaf & Hard of Hearing Services

apuopolo@gmu.edu

Marcel Assink, Data Analyst and Business Manager

massink@gmu.edu

Maureen Breen, Administrative Assistant

mbreen1@gmu.edu

Rachel Carter, Test Administrator

rcarter8@gmu.edu

Skye Berg, Assistant Director of Mason Autism Support Initiative

sberg7@gmu.edu

Christina Kelly, Student Support Specialist Mason Autism Support Intiative

ckelly31@gmu.edu