Our Office and Staff

The Disability Services mission is to:

Promote Equal Access

for students with disabilities in curricular and co-curricular activities within the university experience

Foster Partnerships

with students, faculty, and staff to create environments that are accessible, diverse, and inclusive

Empower Students

to participate fully in the university community

Our Vision

As part of George Mason University’s continuing commitment to upholding the letter and spirit of the laws that ensure equal treatment of people with disabilities, the university established and maintains Disability Services. Under the administration of University Life, the center implements and coordinates reasonable accommodations and disability-related services that afford equal access to university programs and activities.

Disability Services is available to serve all students with disabilities, including those with cognitive, learning, psychological, sustained head injuries, sensory, mobility, and other physical impairments

As part of University Life’s commitment to recognizing and honoring the richness of diversity at George Mason University, Disability Services staff members actively participate in the campus-wide diversity dialogue. The office welcomes and encourages all students with disabilities, whether registered with Disability Services or not, to identify themselves as members of the disability community and to engage in the diversity dialogue on campus by getting involved with Disability Services and other multicultural programs and activities

The Disability Services Team

Naomi Martinez-Jones, Director

nmarti20@gmu.edu

Jamilah Anderson, Associate Director

jander53@gmu.edu

Jeffrey Ogden, Assistant Director

jogden5@gmu.edu

Jennifer Early, Assistant Director - Mason Autism Support Initiative

jearly2@gmu.edu

Lisa Coats, Access Consultant

lcoats@gmu.edu

Aja Puopolo, Manager of Deaf/Hard of Hearing Services

apuopolo@gmu.edu

Marcel Assink, Data Analyst and Business Manager

massink@gmu.edu

Maureen Breen, Administrative Assistant

mbreen1@gmu.edu

Rachel Carter, Test Administrator

rcarter8@gmu.edu

Skye Berg, Testing Center Assistant

sberg7@gmu.edu